Annoying noise...lift pump?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Annoying noise...lift pump?
When turning the ignition on on my hdi there's a high pitched noise for 5 seconds then it stops.
Then when I start the engine it starts again and continues. What is it? The lift pump ? Can I make it quieter? I'm new to Hdi's so not keyed up on them really.
Thanks given by:
Where abouts in the noise? It will be because of the lift pump, but if its around the engine bay then it's the pipes vibrating or something to do with the fuel filter housing, pre X reg are bad for that. Not actually a problem though, more of an annoyance lol.

If its coming from the pump itself then that could be a sign that its on the way out...
Thanks given by:
Mine does the same, its the lift/low pressure (lp) pump - to confirm remove the seat behind the driver, make sure all windows are closed and radio off, when you switch the ignition you should hear the pump prime, by prime it should make a high pitched whining noise and you should be able to hear it working for a bit then it should cut off, it will also whine when its working..

You can try to sound deaden that area by putting something under the seat i guess...

If the noise is coming from elsewhere then i don't know!
Thanks given by:
As per Tom's post.
306 HDi Deathtrap - 130bhp / 220lbft
...UPGRADING...

Thanks given by:
Yep from by the glove box but engine side, no worries, the engine soon drowns it out anyway. Cheers
Thanks given by:
If it's by the glove box then I've read it's the heater air recirculation motor/flap going crazy causing that noise?
Current Car: Lexus CT200h 1.8 138, 2013, 19,500 miles
Previous Car: VW Passat 2.0 TDi 140, 2005, 136,000 miles
Previous Car: Peugeot 306 XLdt (stock!), 150,000 miles (I miss this car Sad)
Thanks given by:
(23-06-2014, 11:12 AM)andywhy Wrote: If it's by the glove box then I've read it's the heater air recirculation motor/flap going crazy causing that noise?