I'm having trouble pulling off.

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
I'm having trouble pulling off.
Here's the problem.

306 HDI 230,000miles

I stop at a roundabout.When I can go, I dip the clutch pedal, put it into gear, give it some gas, and lift up the clutch pedal.
The car starts to move forwards, but just as I'm lifting my foot right off the clutch pedal, the engine starts to die, and the car lurches and slows right down. I'm in first gear now, and slowly the revs build up again and it starts to pull away as normal, albeit very slowly. 
Sometimes the engine dies and the car lurches as I am just getting into 2nd, and again the revs build up very slowly .

The car pulls fine in 3rd, 4th and 5th. If I am in 5th, I can dip the clutch pedal, give it some gas, lift up the clutch pedal  and the car picks up ok. If I am in 3rd or 4th and floor the gas pedal, the car picks up and accelerates without problem. It does not feel like the clutch is slipping, but seeing as this condition is new to me I can't be 100% sure. The clutch cable is original and has been stiff and 'notchy' for the last 150,000 miles.

Is this condition familiar to anyone?

Thanks for reading.

Steve
Thanks given by:
I had a similar issue when the speedo died, it was the speed sensor on the gearbox. I take it your speedo is working fine?

Your issue might be the clutch switch. Check it on a diag tool or multimeter on the switch.
Thanks given by:
sounds strange I wouldnt expect it to be the cable as once the clutch is engaged its engaged. If it was slipping it should slip at max torque in all the higher gears. I suspect it may be a sensor somewhere. Try replugging everything and check the MAF? Disconnect the MAF, go for a drive and see if it changes anything.
Thanks given by:
DeeTurbo