Odd Focus Issue...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Odd Focus Issue...
Morning,

So, this issue has always been present and I'd assumed it was just a 'quirk' or I was a shit driver, but it seems to have got worse since moving, though it may be beause I have to do a lot more stop/start on a cold engine now.

Anyway, the issue is, first few pull-aways after a cold start are juddery/sticky from the OS front wheel.  It feels like someone is holding the driveshaft hard and it 'jumps' a bit before moving off.  Takes a lot of clutch to pull away as well and the wheel slips/spins a bit when it does go.

After the first few times it's perfectly smooth though, which has really confused me!!  If it was anything mechanical (driveshaft for example) it would be constant.

There is also a 'dip' just after pull away when the EGR opens but I don't think these issues are linked.  Thought I was just forgetting how to drive on a cold engine but giving it more revs doesn't seem to help either.

So has anyone got any ideas?  Really can't understand it myself. Confused

Cheers
Tom

Thanks given by:
Sounds like the brakes are binding a little, give them a clean up and grease
306oc Chat Wrote:15:30: Toms306 - :Genuinely thought it was gonna explode when I was playing with Sam
22:57: SRowell - :wtf why didnt you try harder to make me come!
[Image: connorsig.jpg]
Thanks given by:
Ah ok, could be an easy fix then. Have been meaning to do that for the last 9 months anyway due to annoying squeal under any sort of braking lol. Dodgy Hadn't linked the 2 as I didn't think they'd 'unbind' when warm.
Thanks given by:
You'll need the following tools:

Sockets and a ratchet. Can't remember if you need hex bits on a Ford on the slider bolts. I think you might. Sure I did the brakes on one of these models recently...
Wire brush
Copper grease
Tea
Jaffa cakes
Swear words (amount dependant on when the brakes were last apart...)