Engine swap questions

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Engine swap questions
Expect a few questions in the next week or so as its my first time doing any form of engine swap

First thing is I'm changing the clutch on the engine out of the car - which way does the friction plate go in? [Image: sezabaty.jpg]
Or
[Image: myvugequ.jpg]

Second is while I'm doing the swap i need the car to be moveable in and out of the workshop - what's the best way to do this?
Thanks given by:
(03-07-2014, 06:46 PM)rocker8742 Wrote: Expect a few questions in the next week or so as its my first time doing any form of engine swap

First thing is I'm changing the clutch on the engine out of the car - which way does the friction plate go in? [Image: sezabaty.jpg]
Or

Second is while I'm doing the swap i need the car to be moveable in and out of the workshop - what's the best way to do this?

Cant remember what way around the pressure plate goes but do not put the car back down on the wheels with no drive shafts as they basically hold the bearings together. Ive seen people do this before, push a car about and half the hub falls off with the wheel and brake lol
Team Eaton

1999 China Blue 306 GTi6 - Eaton Supercharged - 214.5bhp 181lbft
Thanks given by:
think its picture two for the clutch
as picture 1 looks close the the flywheel bolts Wink
Thanks given by:
Picture two. As a rule of thumb the larger pertrusion goes to gearbox side thus allowing more contact on the input shaft
On a break from 306oc for personal reasons. If anyone needs or wants me most of you have my number and or facebook messenger
Thanks for the good times guys n gals. I might be back. Who knows.
Thanks given by:
It should say which way it goes, something like g/box side or trans side, fwheel side
306oc Chat Wrote:15:30: Toms306 - :Genuinely thought it was gonna explode when I was playing with Sam
22:57: SRowell - :wtf why didnt you try harder to make me come!
[Image: connorsig.jpg]
Thanks given by: