Possibly Getting a Work Van

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Possibly Getting a Work Van
Morning all,

Right so currently as most know I work as a Project/Technical Manager for a Borhole Drilling company.

As the company has grown, the role has expanded, and now I'm finding myself doing a fair bit of mileage to go to sites etc.

My insurance policy on the Megane doesn't cover me for Commuting, beyond the 1 place of work, so I don't really use it. However, this makes it awkward, as we run a pool of vehicles at work, but there are rarely any about, meaning I have in the past had to jump in mine or the gf's car to get about...

I'm basically going to have a word with my boss in the next couple of days, as I think the best solution as an alternative to me charging 40p a mile for using my private car is for them to get me a van/work vehicle.

Now I don't really need to fit masses in it; I don't ever get my hands dirty on site (god forbid I would ever do any actual hard work!), but a van would be better if I ever need to chuck a few bits in to temporarily solve an issue on site.

Does anyone have any suggestions? The van would most likely have to be about 58-plate onwards say, and less than 50,000miles on the clock.

I've not had a massive look, but have already discounted the transit connects as they look pikey as, and the VW caddies as they are just silly money for what you actually get.....

I was thinking the best thing would be a Citroen Nemo?? These seem to go for below £5k, with around 35-50k miles... They seem to return very good economy too from the tiny 1.4Hdi engine...

As a result, I can't imagine they're pricey to insure or tax...

Thoughts guys? Does anyone have any experience with them? Do they have any problems or things to look out for? And what alternatives should I be considering.

The van does need to be fairly cheap too, as I need to justify it to the boss, but can't be something older or ropey that I'll end up having to fix/work on...