Car plans...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Car plans...
Right basically im thinking the time has come...

ive spent running into the hundreds doing the estate up and i still owe Tom some money for various things...

Im in my last year at uni and i take a full car of people on sailing trips which normally involves a full boot and kit on peoples laps which makes things fairly uncomfortable.

The estate is a bit tatty but it is all working, has a new clutch and is a superb base. It does have some minor crash damage to the front but nothing substantial. It does however being a hdi have the huge advantage of fuel economy and has all the space i could ever need!

[Image: EstateClean41012019.jpg]
[Image: EstateClean41012022.jpg]

The 1.8 on the other hand is brilliant fun to drive and with a bit of tidying up will be just as tidy as the day i bought it! The noise it makes is epic and it is pretty much how i want it to be apart from the gti6 box and exhaust manifold. However at 60mm its too low to park on pavements where i am living this year and on those big trips it scrapes on all the speedbumps. However im thinking it may be easier to park on our crowded street and drive around the city (liverpool) compared to the estate due to the size. Probably just a feeling I have as I havent driven an estate for 3 years D:

[Image: IMG_1318.jpg]
[Image: IMG_1314.jpg]

Power wise... i like the 1.8 as it sounds good and has all the power (125hp) i need for overtaking. But then... as soon as i map the estate it would be nearly the same but with a lower power to weight ratio...

However what i really want is a stripped out 3 door petrol (gti6 ;D). Id do it to the 1.8 but its a 5 door and not a 3 so it would be very silly to use that car to begin with.

So yeh thoughts please! Im thinking myself that i should store/sell the 1.8 and use the estate as a daily and then once ive saved up enough money i can get a 6 and track spec it (and insure it D: ).