Cabriolet Questions

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Cabriolet Questions
Hi guys, I've got a load of questions for you all to answer Smile sorry if they seem dumb but I'm new to the 306 scene.

It's an X reg 1.8 16v cabriolet in china blue. Looking to modify in an OEM fashion.

[Image: uvu8amy4.jpg]

[Image: yhe2ajub.jpg]

1) Cabriolet/hatchback differences.

Looking at the panels I don't know which are the same/different. I know the doors aren't the same but what about the wings/bumpers etc?

2) Exhaust.

Is there a difference in exhaust for the cabriolet ie is it a longer system? I will be putting a GTi6 manifold and cat one on there soon Smile

3) Interior.

Is the seats, carpet etc the same? I'm looking at getting blue S16 seats but I'm concerned about the back seat fitment.

4) Brembos.

Will fit behind Cyclones with 15mm spacers? Also, if I was to convert to stud and nut how long can you get the studs?

5) GTi6 bits. (Most importantly)

I've seen that the GTi6 'box and inlet can be done. I'm looking at doing the gearbox first but I've heard that the GTi6 gearbox needs a new steering rack?

6) What phase is my car :embarrassed:

Think that's it. All help appreciated Smile

Matt
Thanks given by:
Everything on the front is the same as the other variants... The rear ights etc are different and I believe the rear bumper.

I believe the exhaust will be the same, although there's been mixed opinions on the benefits/downfalls to fitting GTi engine parts.

Front seats, I would have thought, are the same. Rear seat is different however and not sure on the carpet.

As already said, you may want to do some searching on the 1.8>GTi manifold swaps. Some say it's fine, others say the stock management can't deal with it. Yeah, to do the conversion properly you will, as the gearbox is bigger and foul on right hand lock.
Thanks given by:
(07-10-2012, 09:53 PM)Matt306 Wrote: 1) Cabriolet/hatchback differences.