Cheap coilovers or better shocks?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Cheap coilovers or better shocks?
SO i've been rocking about in my DT for a few months now on a 60mm drop all round, with standard shocks.
Its a nice height and on flat roads drives well, but when theres bumps its pretty bouncy. And i'm thinking better shocks would help with this?
Obviously want to spend as little as possible... but is it better to get cheapo ebay coilovers or uprated shocks with my drop springs?

Im talking cheap like this: LINK

Or get some, (bilstein?), shocks?

The only other car ive got/had coilies on is my mk2 golf gti and I got them dirt cheap as the standard suspension was shagged, so that obviously improved it no end and couldnt really compare to true standard setup?

Thoughts? Also, dont want to spend a fortune as its only a cheap to work and back (in style) car :-p

Sorry if this is the billionth time this question has been asked!
Thanks given by:
if you want cheap, and upgraded, try get hold of a second hand pair of gti ones, or, ive heard that hdi ones give better ride comfort. however, they wont last tooo long on a 60mm drop, but for cheap second hand ones, nevermind.
if its a daily, cheap coilies can be crashy as fook, and im guessing you wont want to spend proper money on proper coilies.

what sorta budget you looking at?
[Image: k6f9Fk]

Member of the 99% warning or you're nothing club
Thanks given by:
couple of hundred tops. It takes a good battering up some country tracks, which is bouncy as hell at times... i guess maybe its best to keep going on the standard shocks until the give in and replace as I need to?
Thanks given by:
If you want to improve ride I'd say uprate the shocks. Cheap coilies are pretty much good for 2 things; lows and adjust-ability. But they won't be comfy!
Thanks given by:
If you already have 60mm springs and you dont want to go any lower get some decent shocks
Thanks given by:
for a couple of hundred, get some decent uprated shocks.