Newbie 306 Estate owner

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Newbie 306 Estate owner
Hi all, 

Last month I brought a pretty beaten up 2.0 Diesel Hdi Meridian estate. Primarily because it was cheap but I'm starting to fall in love with this car. I'm new to car mechanics but I want to learn to maintain and fix the car myself so as to avoid the nasty money grabbing mechanics as I've previously been royaly ripped off, haven't we all?! 
When I brought it it had a short MOT on it with an ABS light on and a constant handbrake light on. I'm proud to say I got my hands dirty and replaced an ABS sensor, topped up my fluids and changed my rear brake pads. This may seem a small thing to some of you more experienced folk but it was a big deal to me. Yesterday it passed it's MOT!! Very happy indeed. 
I joined this forum because I understand there'll be a wealth of knowledge to be shared and I really don't think this will be the last 306 I own, and I also had an advisory I'd like to ask for advice on. 
My back right brakes are binding. As I'm a complete novice I'm not entirely sure what this means, nor how to fix it. Any advice would be much appreciated

I'm hoping to do the car up for as little money as possible and as I'm a new driver my mods can't affect my insurance so it'll be real low key and probably just asthetics. I have quite a few bumps and dents, one major dent on my drivers door. I reckon this will be a long lasting and fun hobby. When I get the time I'll stick some photos up.

Thanks for reading
Thanks given by:
Welcome Jack Smile
Car sounds like a bit of a project but well worth it, these cars are great to drive and pretty cheap to run.
Sure most if not all 306 owners have had binding brakes at some point, could be many things. Usually sliders, pistons, or warped discs etc. I found replacing the callipers with refurbed ones did the trick! Smile Then just keep on top of them by greasing them up and moving them about every 6 months or so.