Oil / Mayo Air pipes?

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Oil / Mayo Air pipes?
Right chaps, I'm an engine novice so I'll try to explain this as best as I can.

[Image: 1482379_770581559622167_1928711217_n.jpg]

Firstly, all the pipes ringed green are missing tensioning rings. The one in red (which attaches to the throttle body, I think?) was not connected at all, the end had some old gaffer tape and zip ties on it, but it was hanging loose.

Now upon investigating (because my blower smelled like hot oil when on) I have found that the air filter and it's housing are covered in oil. The rubber pipe that goes into the oil part is full of cream/mayo and the large air pipe itself is full of oil residue.

Anyway, I have added a tensioning ring to the end of the pipe I circled in red and the car seems to be running a bit better. Previously it was a little bit growly and upset, but that's improved. The exhaust was also blowing clean, which is reassuring.

I will add some small tension rings to the ends of the other pipes when I can find some small enough. The air filter needs changing as well as the oil when I get round to giving it a basic service. But in the meantime, should I be concerned about anything as of yet unseen that this problem could affect? When I bought the car I have to admit that although I checked all the fluid levels I didn't give it an in-depth inspection!
Thanks given by:
Cream/mayo is a sign of the head gasket going, take the oil filler cap off and see if there is oil/mayo on there too
[Image: image_zps45f2003b.jpg]

Team Doesn't own a 306
Thanks given by:
There was a bit, but I'm assuming that it was from condensation getting into the unattached pipe. I've had three vauxhalls all die from head gasket problems and this feels different. The water reservoir is clean of any oil and the exhaust is blowing clean. I've cleaned the gunk out of all the pipes so will check it again for a few days to see if it is creaming.
Thanks given by: