306oc - Peugeot 306 Owners Club & Forum

Full Version: not happy brakes are worse now garage has touched them
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
hi guys im just starting to learn general mechanics and iv just fitted new suspension and brakes but I wasn't very confident in bleeding them up so got a local garage to come out and bleed them now they feel worse than when I attempted
Get them to come out again then and complain. What brakes did you fit. Are you sure you fitted them correctly
I have im waiting again, should they all bled all 4 brakes or just just front as the caliper was disconnected
If you had a caliper disconnectd you want to get all four bled

What method did they use to bleed ?
they just made me pump the brake then let off while he did the nipple up
If you drained the brake fluid. All four nees doing. If you locked the line off you only need to bleed one.
You need to do all 4. It'll probably take at least half a bottle of fluid to bleed properly. You need to do then in the right order too. I believe its NSR OSR OSF NSF
As Sam said ^ bleed all brakes to be safe from closest caliper to the furthest from the mbc.
There is a risk of damaging the master cylinder piston seal when you bleed brakes on old cars with that technique, rust inside the cylinder bore can scratch the seal.
During normal use you never manage to push the pedal all the way down but when bleeding you do.
Is your pedal spongy or does it sink slowly to the floor? Or do the brakes just not bite?
It's not rust (or shouldn't be unless there's water been in there), it's the fact that there'll be a wear lip that the seal goes over after years of use.
pedal just feels soft and you have to push pedal to floor for it to brake
If you've fitted brand new pads/discs they'll take a few miles to bed in.
it wont got tho floor tho, they need bleeding again