Job woes...

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Job woes...
Bit of a rant / request for advice.

I work in the timber door industry, have done for nearly 5 years now. It's commercial stuff, not like that you get on the front of your house...

Brinigng in 25k (not affraid to tell you lot that much!) and it's simply not paying the bills. Live in a small house which was the cheapest in the area, but struggling to pay the bills every month and have enough money left to eat.

Last year I was on 20k, so we were entitled to a bit of Child Tax Credit which helped pay for the nappies, food and clothing for Florence (most clothes are 2nd hand). When I threatened to leave my position last year they gave me a £5k payrise to keep me here, so it's highly unlikely I'll see another payrise anytime soon.

Here's where it gets annoying.

The MD of the company is bringing his eldest son in to work here. I have to train him up, teach him the ropes. He won't be here everyday since his dad is putting him through a construction course at college

Wait a minute, wasn't I offered further education when I started here? WTF happened to that offer?

Basically feels like a kick in the bollocks. It's not going to increase sales, it's going to increase my workload, the lad is going to get paid healthily by Daddy and I'm going to be struggling on whilst he will be trying to find his own customer base (we don't get paid comission here).

So what do I do? Present my issues to the MD or is this likely to cause upset? Mention that I'm struggling to make ends meet and if they could look at any possibility of a payrise?

Not going to get any tax breaks this year and the support for Florence (our daughter) will drop to £7.08 a week, which doesn't even buy the food she needs. Sadly, the Government see it as we are living well off of the huge amount of money (LOL) I'm bringing in and working 40 hour weeks for, therefore we don't need any help.