GTI-6 acquired

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
GTI-6 acquired
Not been on a lot recently but thought I’d update things.

I’ve just bought a Diablo gti6... and I love it! After owning various xud’s and hdi‘s I’ve finally got myself a 6.

It came up on eBay locally and after meeting the owner and viewing the car I couldn’t resist.

1999 in great condition. It does have lacquer peel on the roof and one side and high ish mileage. But has been looked after and owned by a couple for the last 12 years. There are a few other niggles, but nothing I can’t put right.

I’ve been restoring my ph1 xud since 2010 but after recently stripping it I’ve discovered various areas of rust and it just doesn’t seem logical to continue trying to repair it. Even after spending years and god knows how much £ on it!

So this week I will be breaking the xud and selling the Astor hdi as the other half says 3 cars on the drive are too many.

I have a couple of queries about the 6 if anyone is able to shed some light on them?

First there is a noise when running inside the cabin that sounds like a plane is flying over head! I haven’t yet been able to locate exactly what it is; the in tank pump seems to be buzzing/ on constantly while the engine is running but I’m pretty much clueless to most things gti at the moment. Anybody have any suggestions?

Also the temp gauge doesn’t reach 70 during “normal” driving. I’m used to the diesels running at 80ish. Could this be an issue?
Fans are not on constant (which would explain the noise and temperature) so I’m unsure.

It has had the air con removed at some point due to failure. Head gasket has gone in the past and has been rebuilt with a new radiator. Would that relate to the temp/ buzzing noise?

Any views/ advise welcome!

[Image: a4da8eaa7747143fececbb03ba558870.jpg]

[Image: ad44f41c11bf9104739a7ad10c21ce58.jpg]

[Image: 10ac9089cdf6ae1709555eefc46771b0.jpg]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks given by: