HDI To GTI 6 Brake Conversion

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
HDI To GTI 6 Brake Conversion
Soo ive read a few guides but wanna ask a few questions before i start making purchases, my 306 is struggling to stop on the standard 306 HDI brakes so a friend has offered me a full GTI 6 break setup for the front as i am aware the rear brakes are the same. Is it a direct fit? Is it worth me uprating my brake lines to braided lines? Would anyone recommend a brand of GTI 6 Drilled & Grooved discs or are the ones I can find on eBay ok to use. 

Secondly is it a do at home job my rear passenger side hub bearing has gone and is starting to make some very worrying noises while cornering, is this something i can do at home or would you suggest i take it to a garage to do. I have little to no mechanical experience and will happily admit that.

Thanks for any answers in advance.
Check Out My Build Threads // Puglet Build 
Thanks given by:
Hi should be a direct fit. It would be good to do the brake lines to braided just for peace of mind and to know that its as good as it can be. I wouldnt particularly bother with drilled and grooved discs up front. Its hit and miss as to whether youll get a good set and youll see enough gains with the standard discs. Pagid stuff seems to be the best OEM at the moment.

Not sure how the rear bearings work but would suggest a garage do it if youre worried.
Thanks given by: TommiePuglet
(20-09-2017, 08:14 AM)Eeyore Wrote: Hi should be a direct fit. It would be good to do the brake lines to braided just for peace of mind and to know that its as good as it can be. I wouldnt particularly bother with drilled and grooved discs up front. Its hit and miss as to whether youll get a good set and youll see enough gains with the standard discs. Pagid stuff seems to be the best OEM at the moment.

Not sure how the rear bearings work but would suggest a garage do it if youre worried.