Company Vehicle Tax

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Company Vehicle Tax
Afternoon Gents. 

I know a few of you have company vehicles and I'd like to pick your brains about the tax. 

I currently have a Citreon Berlingo provided by my employer. I'm a Security Engineer so travel up and down the country different site and I'm on call 1 in 4 weeks. It's my 'own' van, I take home on weekends and get to use it for private use with no charge and it's not got a tracker.

I'm deducted £3170 from my personal allowance. ~£600 out of my pocket. Because I'm on call and HAVE to have a van to do my job shouldn't it be exempt? 

Looking online it's a bit of a minefield!
Thanks given by:
Nope because you have personal use of it then you have to pay BIK. The company would have to prove that its not available for personal use before the HMRC would let you off of the tax.
Team Eaton

1999 China Blue 306 GTi6 - Eaton Supercharged - 214.5bhp 181lbft
Thanks given by:
I had a company van for a while & I had a letter saying that there's changes coming as of April which meant we'd lose our PMA allowance & I had no personal use anyway!
Thanks given by:
I've didn't pay it with my previous employer same job only difference is we swapped and changed vans. I hardly ever do private journeys in it, it's not exactly child friendly. Speaking to lads at work they pay the same for their cars (Octavias and Superbs) I thought vans were cheaper?    

I'm sure my employer could say I only use it for insignificant trips.....

[Image: ACD71301-289E-4F89-89DB-7A1919EDC411_zpsv04wqnmj.png]
Thanks given by:
If it's taxed as a commercial vehicle then you should be paying around £56 per month in the 20% tax bracket

That's what I was paying on my l200

Now paying around £35 in a PHEV outlander
Thanks given by:
Vans used to be cheaper but not any more.