1.6 (99' 306 XR phase 2 manual) Won't rev past 3000rpm

Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
1.6 (99' 306 XR phase 2 manual) Won't rev past 3000rpm
Sad 
Hello guys. I've got this 306 here that seems to be chocking to rev past 3000rpm. In neutral it might rev up to 4000rpm, but under load it lacks power like the timing is retarded too much. I'm new to Peugeot's but the engine seems really simple. I know it uses an ECU but i'm unaware if there is a diagnostic mode (OBD or something - not that i have an OBD scanner but..). Is there an FSM i can use to check everything? What do you think by experience? It might just be spark related to be honest since i had something similar. I don't think is the O2 sensor as it should behave like this except if it has a limp mode. What do you think?

Kind regards,
Ken
Thanks given by:
Check timing, fuel filter, fuel is good, you are actually getting full throttle (cable is slack), air filter, crushed pipes, blocked breather
P1 XSi track car
2.4 LWB T4
Thanks given by:
(03-06-2015, 10:33 PM)adam b Wrote: Check timing, fuel filter, fuel is good, you are actually getting full throttle (cable is slack), air filter, crushed pipes, blocked breather

Thanks i will do, but probably a full service is needed for this vehicle as it has been sitting for a while. I'll work a bit on it tomorrow and report backSmile
Thanks given by:
Could be crap fuel then
P1 XSi track car
2.4 LWB T4
Thanks given by:
(04-06-2015, 08:56 PM)adam b Wrote: Could be crap fuel then