306oc - Peugeot 306 Owners Club & Forum
2.0 xsi manifold swap - Printable Version

+- 306oc - Peugeot 306 Owners Club & Forum (https://www.306oc.co.uk/forum)
+-- Forum: Engines (https://www.306oc.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=16)
+--- Forum: XU Petrol Engines (https://www.306oc.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+--- Thread: 2.0 xsi manifold swap (/showthread.php?tid=37055)

2.0 xsi manifold swap - Scunny306 - 22-09-2018

Hi all, 
Excuse me if i sound abit dumb never owned a pug only vauxhall and one mistake kia.

Im not clued up on my engine codes etc i think (correct me if im wrong) a xu10j4r

When i bought the car i got free a what i was told a gti6 exhaust manifold, down pipe and some what appear to be coolant hoses oh and gaskets.

Does the engine gain from this mod. Is it easy enough to do (im a 10 yr hgv mechanic ive done full engine conversions in corsas etc but frightend of cam belts and fwd clutches)

Do i have all whats needed parts wise ?
Regards
Sam

RE: 2.0 xsi manifold swap - Mighty306 - 23-09-2018

Hi Sam.  The XSi came in 2 versions.  Between '93 and '97 it had a 2L 8v engine and from '97 on had a 16v engine.  You're spot-on with the designation - XU10J4R.  Some people slag off the 16V XSi because they try to compare it to the GTi-6 which has the XU10J4RS engine.  In truth the XU10J4R is a strong engine and I find the 16V XSi a pleasure to drive and can bring on a bit a smile when wound up.  The main down-side is the fuel economy - not much better than a GTi with 42 less BHP!  But ...if you're not looking to rack up huge miles then it doesn't really matter.  Also, many XSi's haven't had such a hard life as the GTi's and it's easier to find a decent one at an affordable price, as you have hopefully found. The 16v XSi engine is, I think, much less prone to throwing cam belts than the GTi so there's a good chance yours contains an engine which has never been rebuilt.  (They're often not done very well).