306oc - Peugeot 306 Owners Club & Forum

Full Version: Big Job Tips and Tricks
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
So to get things straight from the get go this isn't a guide I am NOT a mechanic so take this all as you will these are all things that I would've liked to know before changing the clutch on my 1998 Rallye/ GTi-6 (BE3 Box XU10J4RS Engine), so with that out the way lets get into this!

Doing a job like this yourself is a pain in the a*s but it's one of the more rewarding things you can do to your car! You won't realize this at the start but as you get closer to completion the excitement starts building it all starts becoming worth it. Once you've finished the job look back at all the things you've learnt and think about all the things you can now do with the knowledge you've gained.
  • Before you start anything you want to get intimate with a couple of guides, read your chosen guides over and over until you are comfortable with the process in your head
    • Don't take the guides as fact, after all they are only a guide and sometimes the information provided might not line up with your car (For example a guide I was following quotes 10 gearbox bolts and we spent at least 10 minutes looking for our lost bolt until we realized there's only 9 and the guide skips number 8 when counting to ten 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9,10)
    • Quoted bolt sizes could also be wrong for example the gearbox bolts were quoted as 17mm whereas on my car they were 16mm's
  • So now you've read a couple of guides make sure you're prepared for the job, collect all the parts you'll need, order everything a couple weeks in advance so when you ultimately forget something you still have time to get it ordered.
    • Write a list of all the parts and tick them off as you get them ordered