306oc - Peugeot 306 Owners Club & Forum

Full Version: Looking into getting a 306 for first car
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello, 

I'm looking into getting my first car hopefully soon wanting a 306 can get a 1.4 for less than £200 a month, cheapest quote was £95 (wanted to fix box not feeling that). 

Anyone know of cheap places for new drivers, and I'm only 20.

Also good places to get a cheap 306 as eBay is ridiculous one person wanting £1000 for a 5 door 1.4 which is nonsense.

Many thanks Lana
Can your insurance stretch to a HDi or 1.8? Far better engines.

£1000 is a joke. Is that a dealer?
Yeah just on a comparison site and it makes it jump up to over £300 a month which I can't afford as I'm a university student
As above, id go HDI, but if you cant insure it cheaply then theres nothing wrong with a 1.4 Smile cheap to run anyway, hows it that much for you to insure a HDI/1.8? Im 20 and for my HDI it was £550 for the year Smile
(12-03-2016, 08:51 AM)MY95 Wrote: [ -> ]As above, id go HDI, but if you cant insure it cheaply then theres nothing wrong with a 1.4 Smile cheap to run anyway, hows it that much for you to insure a HDI/1.8? Im 20 and for my HDI it was £550 for the year Smile

I don't know was that your first car though? And I was thinking 1.4 for a year then move up bigger and begin to modify after a years no claims?
My 306 was my first car and in my own name, I drove my dads company car for a year beforehand though, its nearly halved though the last 2 years, so yeah go for 1.4 then work your way up Smile
(12-03-2016, 09:11 AM)MY95 Wrote: [ -> ]My 306 was my first car and in my own name, I drove my dads company car for a year beforehand though, its nearly halved though the last 2 years, so yeah go for 1.4 then work your way up Smile

Yeah fair enough I don't have any previous driving haven't passed yet just want to look at options before I do