306oc - Peugeot 306 Owners Club & Forum

Full Version: Strange starting/running fault.
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi and thanks for letting me on the forum!

I bought a gti6 a couple of weeks ago, and over that time have been working towards getting her to mot standard (and undoing years of bodges).
I'm a mechanic by the way.

Anyway, it's developed a problem when starting.
It'll turn over and over until it eventually it coughs into life.
Also when being driven, if you give it some stick, about 5 seconds later it pops and farts like it's running out of fuel. It then picks up again.

I've replaced the in tank pump with no difference.

Anyone have any tips on where to look next?

To keep you all happy, here's some pics, cos we all like pics.

When I bought it [Image: 000f07207681ca636b2c52bbb88eca73.jpg]

And now.
[Image: 69dc6617eb0ee265feec0b88e1cb00ca.jpg]
I'd also suspect a fuel issue, either bad injector(s) or maybe an issue with the fpr?
Welcome to the club bud, Nice car!
There's an inline fuel filter under the car just behind/ below the door! Sounds like a blockage somewhere!
Also check out Janne L's car threads! (the dude in the above post)! Awesome Blaze GTI like yours ( a bit) lol
I would have to agree, it def sounds like fuel starvation. It may turn out to be either FPR fault, or blockage in the system, which i would lean towards a blockage, as it is difficult to start, so i owuld imagine the fuel is having trouble getting to the injector rail.
So, have replaced the fuel pump, fuel filter and spark plugs. All had no effect.
It's getting fuel to the rail and it has a spark.
It starts with a bump, but absolutely will not start off the key when stone cold.
Once it's had a run its fine.
Thoughts?

The wife (who is VERY tolerant) is suggesting doing an Elsa. ('Let it go'!)